Board of Trustees

The KAUST Board of Trustees comprises international leaders in academia, science, finance, industry and public life.

In accordance with the charter, members of the Board gather at least three times a year to oversee the University’s activities and monitor its progress and development.  Trustees “shall embody wise and responsible governance and supervision, and shall contribute to this pioneering endeavor and promote the spirit of creativity the University represents.”

The Board appoints the President of KAUST and approves the appointment of senior administrators and faculty members, upon the recommendation of the President.  It is responsible for approving rules that regulate academic, financial and administrative affairs at the University, and for providing support to the officers who manage day-to-day operations at KAUST.

His Excellency Khalid A. AlFalih
Minister of Energy, Industry and Mineral Resources;
Chairman of the Board of Saudi Aramco;
Chairman, KAUST Board of Trustees

His Excellency Abdulrahman A. Al-Fadley
Minister of Environment, Water and Agriculture
Vice-Chairman, KAUST Board of Trustees

His Excellency Mohammed Al-Tuwaijri
Minister of Economy and Planning

His Excellency Dr. Khalid Al-Sabti
Governor, National Cyber Security Authority

His Excellency Dr. Mohammed Al-Hayaza
President, Alfaisal University

His Excellency Dr. Ghassan Al-Sulaiman
Chairman, Ghassan Ahmed Al-Sulaiman Group & Co

Mr. Amin H. Nasser
President and CEO, Saudi Aramco

Ms. Lubna S. Olayan

Deputy Chairperson and CEO, Olayan Financing Company

Mr. Nadhmi A. Al-Nasr

Professor Tony F. Chan
President, KAUST

Mr. Andrew Gould

Former Chairman and CEO, Schlumberger

Dr. Shirley M. Tilghman

President Emerita and Professor of Molecular Biology, Princeton University

Dr. Mohamed A. El-Erian
Chief Economic Advisor, Allianz SE

Professor Alice P. Gast
President, Imperial College

Dr. Nam Pyo Suh
Cross Professor Emeritus, MIT; former President, KAIST

Mr. Dominic Barton
Senior Partner and Chairman, Teck Resources

Mr. Andrew N. Liveris
Former CEO and Chairman, The Dow Chemical Company

Mr. John L. Thornton
Chairman, Barrick Gold Corporation;
Director, Global Leadership Program Tsinghua University

Dr. Ganesh Kishore
Managing Partner, Spruce Capital Partners LLC

Mr. Henry Fernandez
Chairman and CEO, Morgan Stanley Capital International;
Board of Trustees Member, Stanford University

Ms. Marillyn A. Hewson
Chairman, President and CEO, Lockheed Martin Corporation

Mr. Rajeev Misra
CEO, Softbank Investment Advisers

Mr. William F. Stamm
Secretary, KAUST Board of Trustees

Emeritus Trustees

Professor Frank H.T. Rhodes

President Emeritus, Cornell University

Dr. Charles M. Vest
President Emeritus, NAE; President Emeritus, MIT